Quick Look at Current Abortion & Euthanasia Laws in Michigan

Abortion Limit
Because of Proposal 3, there are no limits on abortion in Michigan. Abortion is legal up until the moment of birth.

Abortion Bans
There are no longer any abortions banned in the state of Michigan, however, there is still a ban on killing a child born alive from a botched abortion under the Born Alive Infant Protection Act.

Abortion Funding
Medicaid funding for abortion is prohibited except for rape, incest or life of the mother. Health insurance coverage is now allowed for abortions.

Informed Consent
Women must: be screened for signs of coercion, be given information about the procedure and give their consent; wait 24-hours after obtaining information; given the option to view the ultrasound prior to an abortion.

Coerced Abortions
It is a criminal offense to coerce a woman or minor girl into having an abortion against her will.

Parental Consent
Minors must obtain consent of a parent or a judicial bypass prior to obtaining an abortion.

Abortion Clinic Regulations
There are no longer any laws requiring abortion clinics to be licensed or inspected. There is no longer a requirement for the humane disposal of fetal remains. No abortion statistics or complications need to be reported.

Safe Delivery Law
Newborns under 72 hours old can be confidentially surrendered to police stations, fire stations, hospitals or by calling 911.

Assisted Suicide
Illegal in Michigan.

Patient Advocate
Patients may designate a patient advocate to make medical decisions on their behalf when they are no longer able to make them. This includes authorizing withholding or withdrawing life-sustaining treatments. Physician Ordered Scope of Treatment (MI-POST) allows patients with life-limiting conditions to determine along with their doctors the course of treatment they desire.